It is a municipal obligation to establish collection schemes and collection sites for electrical and electronic waste generated by their citizens. In addition, the local authority must make sure that WEEE is sorted in 6 fractions and portable batteries before being led to recycling at an environmentally approved treatment plant.

The role of the local authorities is defined in so-called guidelines for cooperation between local authorities and producers/importers, which can be found in Annex 9 to the WEEE Order.

There are 98 municipalities in Denmark. Each municipality has a number of collection sites (typically recycling centres) that are registered in DPA-System’s local authority database. This registration contains, among others, statement of contact persons and the needed collection equipment at each collection site. The local authorities must ensure that municipal collection sites are updated in the DPA-System local authority database.

Allocation of WEEE

Once a year DPA-System calculates a so-called allocation in which producers and importers of WEEE, through their collective schemes, are allocated with a share of WEEE per fraction and per municipality. The collective schemes collect WEEE from registered collection sites and sell it to the recycling industry. Quantities are allocated based on a calculation model that again is based on producers’ reported quantities placed on the market.

The allocation, also called “annual shift” enters into force on 1 September every year, but is published already on 1 June.

Last edited: 22/05/2019
DPA-System  |  Vesterbrogade 6D,4.  |  DK-1620 København V  |  Tel: (+45) 3915 5161  |  EAN:5790002305924  |  info@dpa-system.dk  | CVR: 29028842