In order to monitor product and waste streams equipment subject to producer responsibility must be categorised and reported in one of the product categories listed in the WEEE Order.

Equipment must be reported per category and broken down on equipment produced for commercial use and equipment normally used in private households.

After the recast of the WEEE Directive a transition period has been implemented for the new categorisation of equipment. 

Old WEEE Directive EC/2002/96


 WEEE2 Directive  EU/ 2012/19


1. Large household appliances

1. Temperature exchange                     equipment 

2. Small household appliances

2. Screens and monitors

3. IT and telecommunications equipment

3. Lamps

4a. Consumer equipment

4b. Solar photovoltaic panels (photovoltaic equipment)

4. Large equipment > 50 cm

5. Lighting equipment

a: Luminaires (lamps etc.)

b: Light sources (bulbs, fluorescent lamps etc.)

5. Small equipment < 50 cm

6. Electrical and electronic tools

6. Small IT/tele equipment                  < 50 cm

7. Toys, leisure and sports equipment

7. Photovoltaic panels 

8. Medical devices


9. Monitoring and control instruments


10. Automatic dispensers


Last edited: 30/09/2019

Further information:

Change of categories in Denmark

For producers and importers registered in the national producer register the change will take effect after the reporting period 2019.

Click here to activate decision tree on the new EEE categories (pdf)


Scoping of equipment covered by WEEE legislation 

Annual reporting

DPA-System  |  Vesterbrogade 6D,4.  |  DK-1620 København V  |  Tel: (+45) 3915 5161  |  EAN:5790002305924  |  info@dpa-system.dk  | CVR: 29028842